Vijayawada: The campaign for the two MLC seats under teachers’ quota came to an end on Friday. The is being held for the two seats in the two Godavari districts and Krishna-Guntur districts. Polling will be held on Sunday.
Sitting MLCs Ramu Surya Rao (East and West Godavari districts) and AS Rama Krishna (Krishna-Guntur) are scheduled to retire on March 29. While Surya Rao is out of the race, Rama Krishna is contesting again in Krishna-Guntur constituency.
Left-sponsored Progressive Democratic Front has fielded Shaik Sabjee in Godavari districts and former MLC Boddu Nageswara Rao in Krishna-Guntur. Rao was elected in the past in the Graduates constituency of Krishna-Guntur and is contesting in teachers’ constituency this time.
Rama Krishna is being backed by opposition TDP, which is also backing the candidature of Subhash Chandra Bose in Godavari districts. The ruling YSRC, which did not fielded any candidates, is unofficially backing the two PDF nominees. The counting will be held on March 17 and results will be declared the same day.

Source link