Representational image

Representational image&nbsp | &nbspPhoto Credit:&nbspPTI

Amaravati / Hyderabad: Counting of votes for the biennial election to Legislative Councils of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana from Graduates and Teachers constituencies will be held today. In Andhra Pradesh, the elections for MLC seats in Godawari and Krishna-Guntur districts were held on Sunday. The elections were necessitated as the sitting MLCs are retiring on March 29.

Ramu Surya Rao from the East and West Godawari district and AS Rama Krishna from Krishna-Guntur will be retiring by the end of the month. While Rao has been out of the race, Krisha contested from the Krishna-Guntur constituency.

Among key candidates, who are in the fray, the Left sponsored Progressive Democratic Front (PDF) fielded Boddu Nageswara Rao is a prominent face in Krishna Guntur and Shaik Sabjee in Godawari. Rao, a former MLC from Krishna Guntur, has contested from teachers’ constituency this time.

Opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has backed Rama Krishna and Subhash Chandra Bose from the Godavari districts. The ruling YSR Congress has not fielded any candidate this time and according to reports, is backing the PDF candidates.

In Telangana, all eye on PV Narasimha Rao’s daughter

In Telangana, polling was held for the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituencies. While 93 candidates are contesting from the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad constituency, Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda witnessed a fight between 71 candidates.

Besides the larger results across Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, all eyes will be on the TRS candidate S Vani Devi, the daughter of former PM PV Narasimha Rao. Devi, an educationist and an artist, is the TRS candidate from the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad constituency. She contested against BJP nominee N Ramachander Rao, the sitting MLC

Source link