AMARAVATI: The YSR Congress party registered a landslide victory in municipal elections across Andhra Pradesh, winning almost all the civic bodies for which polls were held on March 10. In the election results declared on Sunday, the ruling YSRCP won 11 municipal corporations and 73 of the 75 municipalities in the state.

“People have overwhelmingly backed our CM Jagan Mohan Reddy’s three-capital cities plan,” said YSRC spokesperson Ambati Rambabu. The main opposition TDP bagged only two civic bodies — Tadipatri and Mydukur municipalities. The result of Eluru municipal corporation was not declared in view of a stay order by the AP high court, which is hearing a case related to updation of voters’ list in the civic body.
Asaduddin Owaisi’s AMIM, which contested polls for the first time in AP, won one municipal ward in Hindupur town, opening its electoral account in the southern state.
Counting of votes began at 8am and by 10am it was clear that the YSRCP would make a clean sweep.
The party cadres burst into celebrations all over the state as their victory, particularly in Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada and Guntur cities, is a big setback for the TDP.
The ruling party left rival parties, including the TDP, shell-shocked by winning 11 out of 11 municipal corporations and 69 of the 71 municipalities. The TDP’s score could not even touch the double-digit number in many towns. Although the TDP won a majority of wards in Tadipatri and Mydukur, the YSRCP is likely to bag the chairperson posts there with the help of ex-officio votes. This in other words means that the YSRCP will control all the civic bodies in the state. The Janasena-BJP combine too had no major impact on the voters.
In fact, YSRCP’s grand show in the recently held village panchayat elections had set the tone for the party’s victory march in the urban civic body elections. Although YSRCP looked formidable in the majority of the cities and towns, TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu took the municipal elections seriously in an attempt to prove that his party holds sway on the urban electorate. Naidu and his son Lokesh aggressively campaigned in the municipal elections covering all the key cities and towns in the state.
While Naidu tried to raise the issue of capital city Amaravati, YSRCP still won 45 divisions of 57 in Guntur Municipal Corporation (GMC) and TDP got just 8 divisions. Janasena bagged two and YSRC rebels two.
The party banked heavily on the welfare programmes that covered all sections of people.
YSRCP’s victory in the municipal elections had surpassed its scores in the assembly elections held almost two years ago and panchayat elections held last month. The YSRC won nearly 85% of seats in the assembly in the 2019 elections while it bagged over 83% of the panchayats held on a non-party basis. The party now won nearly 100% of civic bodies.
In majority of cities and towns, it left the rival TDP, Janasena-BJP combine way behind. YSRCP’s win was complete as it bagged Vizianagaram, Greater Visakha, Vijayawada, Guntur, Ongole, Chittoor, Tirupati, Kurnool, Anantapur and Kadapa municipal corporations spread over all the three regions of the state.
The YSRCP won the keenly contested Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation (GVMC) despite controversy over the proposed sale of Visakhapatnam Steel Plant. It won 58 divisions of the total 98 in the city while TDP won 30 divisions.

Source link