Vijayawada: The Progressive Democratic Front (PDF) is ahead of others in naming its candidates for the two impending MLC seats, elections for which are scheduled for March.
The PDF, which is backed by CPM, had bagged five MLC seats in the 58-member legislative council. These seats were won in the teachers’ and graduates constituencies across the state.
This time, its sitting member, Ramu Surya Rao from the East and West Godavari constituency is retiring on March 29, along with TDP-sponsored independent MLC A S Ramakrishna, representing Krishna and Guntur districts.
The PDF has already named its candidates for the two seats and had secured support from the Andhra Pradesh Teachers’ Federation (APTF) for the two seats. It has cleared the candidature of former MLC Boddu Nageswara Rao for Krishna and Guntur constituency, while picked up a fresh candidate, Shaik Babji, for the East and West Godavari constituency.
Interestingly, AP United Teachers’ Federation (APUTF) has also extended its support to the two candidates proposed by PDF.
Boddu Nageswara Rao had won the MLC seat in 2013 with a huge margin of 11,335 votes against the TDP-sponsored Chigurupati Varaprasad. In the two Godavari districts, the PDF has dropped the sitting member, Surya Rao, and fielded a fresh candidate, Shaik Babji.
However, the ruling YSR Congress and the opposition TDP are yet to name their candidates. Meanwhile, the notification was issued for the of the two seats on Tuesday. However, no nominations were filed on the first day.

Source link