Amaravati: YSRC has bagged two municipal corporations and 10 municipal towns without contest as single candidates remained in the fray across all divisions in these towns. Chittoor and Tirupati municipal corporation cities along with three municipal towns in Kadapa district turned unanimous by the deadline for withdrawal of nominations on Wednesday. From Guntur, Chittoor and Kurnool districts, two municipalites each and one from Nellore district have also been bagged by the ruling party.
In CM YS Jagan Mohan Reddy’s hometown of Pulivendula, all 33 wards became unanimous a day before deadline for nomination withdrawals. With no one coming forward to file papers even after the state commission granting special permission, home of panchayat raj minister Peddireddi Ramachandra Reddy, Punganur municipality also became unanimous. All 31 wards in Punganur saw single nominations, all of them from YSRC candidates.
The situation was similar in Palamanair of Chittoor district and Rayachoti under Kadapa district. YSRC bagged 30 of the 50 divisions under Chittoor Municipal Corporation uncontested, thus ensuring the ruling party will also get the mayor’s post irrespective of results in the other 20 divisions which will go to polls. Under Tirupati Muncipal Corporation, YSRC won 19 of the 50 divisions without contest. Pidurugalla municipality in Guntur district become unanimous with all 33 wards having single nominations.
As many as 16 wards of the total 35 wards in Madanapalle town turned unanimous which is expected to pave the way for YSRC to bag the municipal town too without much effort. Dhone, Atmakur municipal towns in Kurnool district have also become unanimous. YSRC candidates bagged 22 of the 32 wards in Dhone, represented by finance minister Buggana Rajendranath, while ruling party candidates won 15 of the 24 wards in Atmakur municipality.
YSRC also won Sullurpet municipality in Nellore without contest as the party won 13 of 25 wards unanimously..

Source link