VIJAYAWADA: The Election Commission on Tuesday issued notification for revision of electoral rolls in Krishna, Guntur, East Godavari and West Godavari districts for MLC elections for Teachers’ constituencies.

The commission has asked the state chief electoral officer (CEO) to ready the final list of voters for the two MLC constituencies by January 1, 2021.
The term of Ramu Surya from East Godavari and West Godavari constituency and A S Ramakrishna from Krishna and Guntur constituency will expire on March 29, 2021. Though the two MLCs were elected as independents, they are associated with the TDP.
Their retirements would bring down the TDP’s strength in the Legislative Council, giving a small edge to the ruling YSR Congress in the 58-member House.
Though the YSRC had recommended for dissolution of the Legislative Council after opposition TDP stalled the passing of the capital bills, the party leadership is in favour of its continuation now as the TDP’s majority is scaling down, giving some relief to the ruling party.
The election, which is likely to be held in February 2021, is important for both the ruling YSRC and the opposition TDP.
The TDP, whose strength has come down to 23 in the 175-member assembly, would not like to lose even one seat in the Upper House, where it has majority to stall government business. The YSRC too wants majority in the House to keep TDP on the backfoot.

Source link