VIJAYAWADA: The high court on Thursday suspended the GO issued by the state government to withdraw prosecution against the accused in the cases related to attack on Old Guntur police station in 2018. The high court took serious objection to the language used in the GO mentioning the accused youth with the prefix of their religion.
The high court asked how a secular state issues an order by naming the religion of the accused.
The high court said it appears to be an attempt of appeasement politics and they cannot accept such language to be used in the GOs.
The high court bench comprising Justice Rakesh Kumar and Justice J Uma Devi suspended the GO issued by the home department and also directed it to maintain status quo on the six FIRs in question.
The state government on August 12 issued GO 776, withdrawing prosecution against the accused persons in six different cases registered in relation to the attack on Old Guntur police station.
The incident took place after the cops arrested a man accused of molesting a minor girl. People belonging to the victim girl’s community gathered in huge numbers demanding justice. The agitators outnumbered the police and they tried to enter the police station. Several cops were injured as the protesters ransacked police vehicles and furniture in the station.
Following the incident, Old Guntur police registered six FIRs. However, on February 2, 2020, director-general of police (DGP) D Gautam Sawang wrote a letter to the government recommending withdrawal of prosecution against the accused in the six FIRs. Considering the DGP’s letter, the state government issued the GO.
One Pasupuleti Ganesh, moved the high court with a public interest litigation (PIL) challenging the action of the state government. He argued in his petition that such action will set a bad precedent. He sought directions to order a probe with Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI). PSP Suresh Kumar and J Chanakya, counsels for the petitioner, argued that the attack on police should be seen as an attack on sovereign power conferred by the Constitution.

Source link