Vijayawada: The two ministers in the Jaganmohan Reddy’s cabinet, who got elected to the Rajya Sabha are likely to resign on July 21. They are scheduled to take oath on the next day. Ministers Pilli Subhaschandra Bose and Mopidevi Venkata Ramana were elected to Rajya Sabha from the state, along with two other industrialists, Alla Ayodhya Rami Reddy and Parimal Nathwani.
Meanwhile, sources said chief minister Jaganmohan Reddy has zeroed in on Palasa MLA Dr Sidiri Appala Raju and Ramachandrapuram MLA Chelluboyina Srinivasa Venugopal to fill the vacancies in the cabinet. Although the two vacancies are from East Godavari (Bose) and Guntur (Ramana) districts, the chief minister, after prolonged deliberations with the party leaders at various levels, has decided to give representation to Srikakulam and East Godavari districts, keeping Guntur aside. Venugopal’s inclusion is to keep the BCs in good humour and ensure that the East Godavari is given due representation, while Appala Raju had earned his berth through his performance in the assembly and outside during the last one year. Sources also indicated that the chief minister has made up his mind to fill the two vacancies in the legislative council as well. He has picked an SC candidete from West Godavari Moshen Raju and a Muslim minority woman from Kadapa district. A notification is likely to be issued in the next couple of days to fill these two vacancies in the governor quota. However, the decision on the vacancies caused by the resignation of the two ministers is yet to be taken.

Source link